Our Leaders


"This is me at the top of Ben Nevis, after completing Snowdon and Scafell Pike as part of the 3 peaks over 3 days challenge, which is something I still can’t believe I accomplished. Usually find me trudging through the Oxfordshire countryside or stretching my legs in the Peak District. For me walking meets my need for fresh air, open space and time in nature which helps me keep balance in my life and the stress levels low. The secondary benefit of course is all the lovely people I’ve met and friends I’ve made through my walks."


From: Yorkshire.

Home: Oxfordshire.

Status: Northern.

Likes: Walking; meeting new people; exploring new places; cats; cake.

Dislikes: Middle lane hoggers.

Favourite mountains: Small ones?

Type of walks led: Local charity walks in Oxfordshire and nearby.



Since having back surgery in 2016, hiking has become my passion. I love being out in the country, exploring footpaths and bridleways, usually with the dog. Lockdown spurred me on to not let life and opportunities pass me by, so in 2022 I took on the National 3 Peaks, and conquered the challenge. Life throws it's problems to all of us, but for me, getting out and crunching some miles, helps me keep steady. Look forward to meeting you soon on one of Get Outdoors walk routes.

Name: Gareth, or G among friends.

From: Oxfordshire.

Home: Banburyshire (Joe Wicks says it's the Cotswolds).

Status: Husband, parent, tall, adult (sometimes) lab owner (Inca).

Likes: Countryside & coast (with the dog); humour, meeting new people; food; cake; beer; bbq; hiking; cycling; exploring new places.

Dislikes: Liver, artichoke, Champagne, procrastination, Jamie Oliver, people using their phones while driving.

Favourite mountains: Cadair Idris (well all the Welsh 3 Peaks - first off the list).

Type of walks led: Local charity walks in Oxfordshire, and surrounding areas





Started this as a way of helping charities raise money. Then realised I quite like being outdoors and apparently helping people achieve stuff.

Home: Begbroke, Oxfordshire.

Preferred home: A tent in the Lake District.

Status: Permanent mid-life crisis; qualified mountain leader.

Likes: Mountains are ok I guess; rugby (Saints); football (OUWFC); eating.

Dislikes: Poor visibility; people who don't indicate at roundabouts.

Favourite mountains: Bidean Nam Bian; An Gearanach; Great Gable; Bow Fell; Dollywaggon Pike (just for the name!)

Favourite day trip: Malvern Hills.

Type of walks led: Mountains; down the garden path; round the bend.





Home: Kendal, Cumbria.

Status: Always smiling; qualified mountain leader.

Likes: Walks with tea and cake at the end.

Dislikes: Bad weather.

Favourite mountains: Helvellyn; Blencathra.

Favourite day trip: Keswick.

Type of walks led: Mountains and hills.





"I don't now if Chris has already told you this already, but..."

Home: Ulverston, Cumbria.

Status: Right here, right now; qualified mountain leader.

Likes: All people, except...

Dislikes: People who drop rubbish, including banana skins!

Favourite mountains: Bidean Nam Bian, Blencathra.

Favourite day trip: Yorkshire 3 Peaks.

Type of walks led: Mountains and hills.




Darren (Taff)

We secretly believe Darren is ex-SAS, tough as nail, but soft as butter, with a loveable booming Welsh accent. Once bodyguard to the rich and famouns. Happens to have invented the "World's best Sports Nutrition for the world's best endurance racers"  Mountain Fuel.

Home: Brynmawr, South Wales.

Status: Ex-military; qualified mountain leader.

Likes: Outdoors; charity work; helping people; pushing himself to the limit.

Dislikes: Not much really.

Favourite mountains: Pen y Fan; Snowdon.

Favourite day trip: Brecon Beacons Waterfall Country.

Type of walks led: Mountains and hills.





From: Northamptonshire.

Home: Northamptonshire.

Status: Wrist nearly fixed...

Likes: Countryside walks; people; cake; Exploring New Places.

Dislikes: Not much

Favourite Mountains: Hmmm... undecided

Type of Walks Led: Local walks in Oxfordshire and surrounding counties.



From: Bucks.

Home: Bicestershire.

Status: I'm not a leader, I like to be at the back!

Likes: Countryside walks; a beer stop; post walk beer; pub crawls; exploring new places, especially a nice brewery and/or distillery.

Dislikes: Most things - list is just too long for here.

Favourite Mountains: Snowdon.

Least Favourite Mountains: Ben Nevis - path far too long!

Type of Walks Led: Tail of local charity walks in Oxfordshire and surrounding; ones to the pub.